Makhtesh Ramon, 2019, 5 min

Jerusalem, 2019, 7 min

Akko, 2017, 6 min

Graphic Scores for large improvising ensemble of various instrumentation.  Premiere included Strings, Winds, Voices, Piano, Percussion, Electric Guitar

Akko Premiered September 14, 2017. 

    Written for the Enescu Festival, Bucharest for the Hyperion Ensemble,

    with Carrick   Conducting, alongside works by Iancu Dumitrescu and Ana Maria Avram. 

Makhtesh Ramon and Jerusalem Premiered (and Akko US Premiere)

    February 5, 2019, Neither/Nor Ensemble, R. Carrick cond., Berklee, Boston

Orgo is a separate 5 min work written for the Hyperion Ensemble in 2016. Unperformed.


Program Notes:

Makhtesh Ramon is the world’s largest natural crater. At 26 miles wide, it contains remnants from some of the earliest periods of the earth, including limestone which is a composite of mollusks shells and bones from the cretaceous period. Dolomite, sandstone and ammonite are also in abundance.  Walking through this desert, that existed before the continental shift, puts some thoughts in perspective. By attaching sound types to each of these four rocks, and graphic representation of the crater, I created a sonic journey reminiscent of my time there.

Jerusalem - the art of listening.  Since this city needs no explanation, it is worth mentioning that each sub-group is given material and asked to listen and identify the right time to enter in the compositional journey with their next gesture.

Akko is one of the oldest mediterranean port towns which has stunning beauty and cultural history, literally piled one on top of the other for the past four thousand years.  Akko was written in 2017 at the invitation of Romanian composer Ana-Maria Avram and Iancu Dumitrescu for the Hyperion Ensemble at the Enescu Festival. Due to Ana-Maria’s sudden death a month before the concert, we did perform the score with the addition of a dedication to her memory.

dedicated to the memory of Ana Maria Avram



Israel Trilogy

Makhtesh Ramon

Jerusalem-the art of listening


Home   News   Concerts    Works   Recordings   Multimedia  Performer    Bio   Press    Contact